Points and Blots

 

Points and Blots

If a player has two or more checkers on a point, he has what is called a point. This point is his, and as long as he keeps two or more checkers on it, his op¬ponent may not land there.

Normally, white would move a man from 24 to 13, but black's points on 18 and 19 make that play impossible.

If a player has left a man by itself, it is a blot. An enemy blot can be "hit" by rolling a number that lands an it. That checker now leaves the game board and must "re-enter."

Suppose white has hit a black blot. Before black can do anything, he must get that blot back in the game.Black is on the bar (off the board), and that man must be brought back into play.This is done by bringing the man onto the white home board. If black's dice include a 1, a 2 or a 3, the man on the bar can re-enter. If, however, black rolls some¬thing like 6-6 or 5-4, he cannot come in. Black will lose his complete roll, and white rolls.

If black should have two men on the bar instead of just one, as in Diagram 1.3, then he will have to get both of them in before moving his other checkers. If black rolls a 6-2, one man will re-enter on the 2, but the other cannot enter. The rest of the roll is therefore forfeited.

Completing a Roll

If a player can possibly use a number on the dice, he must, even if it is to his detriment.

White rolls a 6-2. It looks like white can play only the 2 and must forget the 6, but if white plays from point 12 to point 10, he can then play from point 10 to point 4. White would rather not do this, but he must play a number if he can.

On rare occasions, a player may find he can play the number on either die, but not both numbers. When this is the case, he must play the larger part.

White can move from 23 to 19 or from 23 to 18, but whichever he does, he cannot finish the roll. According to the rule, he must play the larger of the possible num¬bers: in this case, the 5, moving from 23 to 18.

Read More